IRREVERENCE was born in 1995 from an idea of RICKY PAIORO, which found in DAVIDE FIRINU the right person to start the project. In 1997 the band was permanently formed: RICKY PAIORO (guitar & vocals), DAVIDE FIRINU (drums), GIULIANO STROZZI (bass), LUCA PETRAZZUOLO (lead guitar). The first demo is released in 1998, followed the year after by a new recording. In 2000 they signed with STONEHENGE RECORDS to produce and record the debut CD "TOTALLY NEGATIVE THOUGHTS". IRREVERENCE faced 2001 with a new record.
At the beginning of 2002, GIULIANO STROZZI decided to leave the band, followed in a few by LUCA PETRAZZUOLO. RICKY and DAVIDE met STEFANO BERTOLOTTI who joined the band as lead guitarist. The line-up was completed by MAURO PASSIATORE on bass guitar. In 2002 they auto-produce a mini-CD with HARRIS JOHNS at SPIDERHOUSE STUDIOS in Berlin, "TARGET: HATE", released in February 2003. On October 2003 STEFANO BERTOLOTTI left the band. LUCA COLOMBO, old friend of them, joined soon as guitar player.
On August 2005, IRREVERENCE entered the studio again to record the third studio work "WAR WAS WON". They choose to come back at SPIDERHOUSE STUDIOS. On November 2005 the band signs a new record deal with ON DEAD SOUND RECORDS. On 2007 the combo stops the collaboration with ON DEAD SOUND RECORDS and MALKROSS UNITY release a "BEST-OF" cd called "INTO BATTLE SINCE 1995" that has been spread through the world and sold over 1500 copies. On summer 2007 the band records a cover version of the TANKARD's classic song "BEERMUDA" that is included in the Official Tribute "BEST CASE SCENARIO" released by AFM RECORDS.
On September 2009 the band signed a record deal with NOISEHEAD RECORDS, to release the new studio-work. On January 2010 the band entered NOISEHEAD STUDIOS to record the new album named “UPON THESE ASHES” . TOM ANGELRIPPER, historical singer of the germans SODOM, appears as guest voice on one track of the new record. On June 2010 MAURO PASSIATORE decides to leave the band cause of a personal and familiar choices. The band find in MARCO MATTIOLI from DYSTOPYA a valid temporary substitute. MARCO plays some shows with band including ROCK HARD FESTIVAL ITALY with SODOM, GRAVE DIGGER and many more.
On January 2011 the band find in GIGI CORINTO (already on bass with TORMENT and DROWN IN BLOOD) the right musician to join the band and definitevely replace MAURO.
After a lot of tourdates in the context of "TOUR IN THE ASHES 2011" and the great experience had with "IN UNION WE THRASH TOUR 2012", on September 2012 due to different causes two members leave the band. LUCA COLOMBO, after 10 years of militancy in the band, leaves the band due to a significant changes in his lifestyle and goals. GIGI CORINTO leaves the band too, cause of some personal reasons and musical commitments with the other bands he plays with. Right before this events, the band broke the record deal with NOISEHEAD RECORDS, cause of too many lacks of promotion and professional engagement. The band starts auditions for new members to come and on October 2012 the first piece finds its place: STEFANO TRULLA (ex-POLAR BEERS) joins the band as new bass player. The auditions for the vacant role of guitar player goes on, and many musicians try to join the opportunity. On December 2012 the choice is made: EROS MELIS (ex-HOLY MARTYR) definitevely joins the band as new soloist guitar.
In January 2014 the band signs a new record deal with NADIR MUSIC to release the new album, the fifth. On March 2014 Irreverence entered NADIR MUSIC STUDIOS to record "SHREDS OF HUMANITY" that has been released on May 2014. Following to the new release the band starts a long touring both in Italy and Europe.
On September 2015 the band celebrates its XXth Anniversary playing a very special show in Milan with a lot of guests musicians and friends involved on-stage.
On November 2016 the band signs a new record deal with the german label STF RECORDS and on December 2016 the first live-album of the band "RAISE CHAOS - LIVE IN MILAN" (recorded during the "XXth Anniversary Show" in Milan) is finally out.
On September 2018 the band release a brand new single, "BLIND TIMES", composed by 3 tracks (the title track "BLIND TIMES" plus a couple of live songs recorded during the 20th Anniversary Show that took place in 2015).
On October 2018 the brand new album "STILL BURNS" seen the light.
The new release consists of 10 tracks and it's a concept album freely inspired by Mathieu Kassovitz's cinematographic masterpiece "La Haine", specificity that makes "STILL BURNS" an authentic journey inside one of the movies that have marked a time and that aroused international public opinion.
The entire full-lenght production has been carried out by Carlo "Ark" Meroni and by the band itself at A.D.S.R. Studios and Turkish Den Studios. Published and distribuited by german label STF Records, "STILL BURNS" can count on a particularly accurate processing during mixing and mastering, and marks a new stylistic turning point for the italian band.
On December 2018, after three albums and 7 years of militancy, STEFANO TRULLA and EROS MELIS (respectively bassist and guitarist of the band) leave the band due to different but equally meaningful reasons in their personal life.
The band found in MARCO COLOMBO (guitarist, ex-ANCIENT DOME) and MARCO VERGANI (bassist, ex-NEON) the ideal components to complete the line-up again.
On June 2019 MARCO VERGANI leave the band due to a personal reasons suddenly replaced (July 2019) by GIANLUCA RIVA who joins the band for a short time before to leave due to musical controversies.
On December 2019 bassists ANDREA SANGALLI (ex-FLOWERS IN DARK, CALIBRONOVE) joins the band and complete the line-up.
In July 2020 the band enter the studio to record a new EP, “SCAPEGOAT. Released in January 2021, the new EP contains 4 tracks, 1 unreleased song and 3 re-recordings of band classics.